Why Producer Names?

Sup homies.

I’m new to the Auxy world and this forum. I started using it just last week and found it crazy easy to wrap my head around it, and it’s incredibly easy to bang out my ideas on the go. I’ll probably be dropping my first track next week or so. :v:

One thing that is interesting is that pretty much everyone goes by a “producer name” here. Other than for the sake of privacy on the forum, what’s the other advantages for going by a producer name? Most of my bros just go by their real name.

The music industry is full of famous musicians who use an alias. They’re choosing a name to enhance their popularity, because - let’s face it - “Jason Brown” isn’t exciting. (Sorry to anyone named Jason Brown). For example , Bruno Mars is actually Peter Gene Hernandez, etc.

In this forum, there’s a range of talent levels and many of us are casual bedroom musicians, so not everyone will want their real name to be known.

Is ripper your real name? :slight_smile: Welcome to the forum.

@MisterMaster, thanks for the response. :grin: I’m playing with different ways to release my material including using an alias, using a project name specifically for Auxy stuff (eg. Mark Guiliana releases his original music under the project name “BEAT MUSIC”), etc. So I was just curious about the reasoning behind everyone here.

Maybe I should change my name to “Ripper Johnson.” :laughing:

What MM said :slight_smile: it’s no different than an author using a pen name. Mark Twain was Samuel Langhorne Clemens, or Charles Dodgson was Lewis Carroll.

Personally, mine is a play on my full name. Some people here do similar.

John the Ripper

(Or perhaps John the Shredder would be more amusing XD

My producer name is my nickname my friends gave me.

My username is basically my “universal” username that I use all the time.

I got it as a joke for my dad, when I was making an account for Xbox Live. I was gonna change it, but I couldn’t think of another username.