Who uses Chromatic Loops?

Hey guys! My name is Brandon, i’m new to music. I really love how Auxy makes things so easy for me, but I do have a concern. So I see that there is an option to make loops chromatic, which I believe just turns it into the standard keyboard format. I’ve always struggled with that, but is that the way I should be trying to learn or should I just stick to using Auxy with that option turned off? What i’ve been making sounds like music. I’m super critical so I do believe i’d be able to pick up on whether it sounds awful or not. It’s just that it’s so hard to believe that there’s actually something simple enough that could be used properly without knowing formal music theory so I feel like I may doing it wrong, although I like the sounds i’m working on. What techniques do you guys use? Does everyone just work their own way? Do some of you have a lot of experience and knowledge of formal music theory? Do some of you just go with your own flow? And if you do know music theory do you wind up breaking those rules anyway to create new types of sounds? Let me know! I’m really interested to see what all of you do to make your tracks, plus any advice i’d be highly appreciative of! :smiley:

1 Like

Hey Brandon!

I actually make my loops chromatic quite often, but it’s because of a particular sound that I am aiming for. I also use “Harmonic Minor” as well to go for that sinister, and sometimes Middle Eastern-sounding scale. It’s to make the melody sound creepy - and that’s really the only use that I’ve needed with chromatic key. The beginnings of my tracks Blink and The Parasite are good examples of what I mean, and there are many more examples to find if you listen out there.