Im performing my first live set this weekend!

Im studying performance production right now in school, and ill get the chance to perform live for the pre-show this friday! Im really excited for this, theres gonna be visuals and everything!

For the production im part of the Stage Crew and Opener.
I need some tips from anyone experienced in live performance ! A little nervous. :confused:

Setup-wise im using Ableton DJ style, with an Apc Mini and a Launchcontrol xl. Im also gonna play 2 when dusk remixes. Wish me luck and send advice! :))

10 Likes

Basically all the same stuff I wrote to VJM here I played live in a local venue!

Practice your set. If you think you’ve gone through enough dry runs do one more. If you screw up, don’t freak out and start over, just keep going.

Have someone take a video and pictures. I’ve only performed once and it’s on a dusty ass video tape in someone’s house, and I’ve never even seen it… which is a real bummer.

3 Likes

I’d take the time to consider how each piece of equipment might fail on the night, and formulate some kind of back up plan.

Best of luck!

4 Likes

My fear right now is screwing up the mix, but i got about 3 days to play around so I guess its more than enough time

1 Like

Im not so afraid for my controllers cause they’re fairly new gear but my audio interface is what scares me. I suck at sound and I freak out every time i get the signal flow wrong.

1 Like

Will you get the chance to do a soundcheck beforehand?
That should alleviate some of your fears.

Also, take some gaffer tape with you to hold everything in place.

1 Like

Agreed if there’s an opportunity for a sound check, take it. Will be good practice to hook into whatever system is being used at the venue too ( ie, pluggin in them cables in the right spots :slight_smile: )