How to do a Cover

Hey guys! So I got a random technical question for somebody that knows more about this stuff than I do… What’s the correct/legal way to upload a cover song to Soundcloud? I was on Google and there was all this stuff about licenses, and asking the author permission, and paying royalties, etc. and it was kinda making my head swim. :stuck_out_tongue: If I’m just uploading to SoundCloud and not making any money or whatever is it ok to just put the authors name in the title? Thanks!

5 Likes

If it’s not being monetized I think the worst that could happen is you get a cease and desist. At that point I’d just remove it. I’m no expert on these matters but I think in most cases you’ll get a warning first with an opportunity to remove the content.

5 Likes

Yup, if you’re making money off it, them production companies will want dat dolla. A cover is generally considered different enough to not be plagiarism — as you’re adding your own original elements to it.

That’d be fair use.

2 Likes

Sorry, but that’s wrong.

There are typically two parts to music copyright – the recording and the publishing.

The recording is effectively about playing another artist’s recording of a track - e.g. sampling.
The publishing is the musical and lyrical composition itself.

If you’re doing a cover, then it’s the publishing rights that are the issue. And, yes, you do need permission/license to be able to legally release a cover of a track.

(Whether you make money or not doesn’t effect the legality. It only typically impacts how much money they want off you, if they… 1. notice you, and 2. decide to pursue it.

It’s worth looking into the great tradition of bootleg/unofficial remixes.

It’s one of those technically illegal, but rarely pursued areas.

None of the above is covered by fair use/fair dealing.

3 Likes

I’ve done a fair share of research on this topic, though I don’t know too much and I can be completely wrong, but I’m pretty sure you can avoid copyright if: